Consider open sourcing

I was a bit surprised that Trap.NZ doesn’t appear to be an open source project. Or if it is, it’s well-hidden! Has any thought been given to opening things up? There are a number of things I can think of to contribute, and I know a number of people who would feel the same way.

Not a bad idea at all, I’m not a computer programmer but there will be many code areas that could be added, and some old bugs or omissions sorted out. From what I understand, the work on the trapnz app and website might involve three full/part-time programmers, it’s about half the chargeable work for a small business, and regional councils and the like pay for the code changes. So maybe they choose the directions of new code areas. I’m not sure who owns the IP for the website and app, and whether the owner(s) would allow it to be opened up when the big database of records could be at risk. I will add here that it’s still somewhat time consuming to add repetitive no-catch records using the web version, and there is no good reason for that to continue to be the case. You have to add no-catch records with rebaiting to keep your trap check report valid, and that report is then used by others in the trapping team. And who are the people that really need to regularly use the app and web version? The trappers.

3 Likes

I agree, there are many advantages to open-source, especially in the not-for-profit sector - the rate at which features can be implemented and bugs can be fixed is increased immeasurably and doesn’t cost the earth. I’d be a contributor.

Thanks for suggesting it Rich.

Jake

3 Likes