Fenn6 in walk through tunnels

I have been browsing through many of the forum threads – there is some great information on many trapping subjects. I have not seen a lot about the trusty old Fenn6 – so here goes.
I have been using Fenn6 traps for about ten years – it started off on a small rural property trying to catch mustilids and also rabbits for trap bait. I used to put them up the end of farm drainage pipes or in the centre of a large hollow Ponga. Rabbits and hogs seem to like walking through pipes and a washout following some rain was no problem. We sold the farm and moved to a rural/residential street close to the harbour estuary. Rabbits are an ongoing problem digging holes and peeing in our lawn, so I made a couple of tunnels with a central space for a Fenn6 trap. Covered the tunnel with dirt and a flip up cover over the trap site. I catch rabbits when they are around, frequently catch large Norways from the estuary and occasionally get a wandering ferret looking for a rabbit. Most animals are caught at the front end of the body, so it is a fairly humane kill. The Fenn6 is an amazing trap that requires no lure and minimal maintenance – the brass trigger is very sensitive and most trips result in a kill. The Fenn6 can be a challenge to set, and a challenge to release dead animals such as hogs – but the springs can be slipped off to each side and the trap falls apart. My wife hates setting them!

3 Likes

Remember using these in England in the 70’s when I used to spend time helping the gamekeeper on a nearby farm. He used them in wooden tunnels to protect the 5000 pheasants he reared each year. They seemed a good trap. I recall he told me he once managed to catch a badger with one (accidentally). The badger was obviously very much alive and none too pleased. I think he dispatched the badger since they were not popular over there then, but I remember him remarking that the badger must have a very thick skull.