Maggots on rabbit bait - control possible?

Hi all.

I’m new to this, just started helping out on Mt Taranaki, checking DOC200 stoat/rat traps.

I started in late summer, and at that time noticed that fresh (defrosted) rabbit meat baits got fly-struck very quickly. They were nearly all crawling with maggots–just three days after someone had placed them, according to trap.nz records. We’re trying to work to a three-week cycle, so a less-than-three-day effectiveness period isn’t great.

Now, in winter-time, flies aren’t a problem. But they will be soon, I think.

So, a few questions.

1. Is it worth trying to keep flies off meat baits for a few more days? How long could I expect fresh meat to last (as bait) in 12-degree-ish temperatures? A week? More?

2. Has anyone used covers like these disposable tea bags on their baits in DOC200 traps?
    https://www.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale-tea-bags-100pcs.html?spm=a2g0o.detail.search.0

A bait might need double-bagging to keep flies off, but if double-bagged it would not dry out as quickly either, so might be a net win.

1. On the predator free NZ website I saw a suggestion to use metal mesh “tea eggs” to keep mice from stealing baits out of DOC200s. Like this:

Would that work for flies, too? Does anyone have anything to share about using these?

cheers – Greg

1 Like

That is why we use salted rabbit - lasts for weeks, doesn’t get maggots on it.

@dunlop Do you have a recipe for salting it? We get supplied frozen lumps of meat from DoC.

We buy ours already prepared from a hunter. If you do use it, just make sure not to dispose of it where animals can eat it as they don’t like it and can become bait shy.
Instructions on salting rabbit are in Northland Pest Control Guidelines 2020, Pg 22. Can be found on Kiwicoast website, under Resources, Animal Pest Control.
kiwicoast.org.nz/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/Northland-Pest-Control-Guidelines-2020.pdf

1 Like

@dunlop Thank you very much!