Update - Terracotta lures for Victor Traps

I have been using this technique since my posting in 2021.

Terracotta lures for Victor traps

I wanted to add that these terracotta lures (with Connovation chocolate lure) continue to prove just as effective as nutella without the problems of mould, insects or stealing. Furthermore, I am finding they remain effective on rats several months after each re-luring, well past the time you would have thought there was any scent remaining.

A great option if you want leave traps without checking for several weeks, or don’t want to keep replacing food lure.

It’s good to hear that they’re long-lasting. I’ve read several studies that found that rats prefer to interact with lures when a strong smell weakens, so that makes sense. That being said, the rats where I trap are very fond of white vinegar, the fresher the better, and that’s an intense smell!

I’d love to know what would happen if you lured a few of your traps with terracotta lures and didn’t refresh them for a whole year. You could place a trap that gets its lures re-soaked every few months, to see which traps sees the most action.

Cheers.

Yes I read the same thing in the report by Boffa Miskell on the development of their ceramic stoat lure. It would be really useful if they released that report without redaction so we could all learn from it. Especially if they received government co-funding.

On the second point, regarding leaving the lures for a year. I agree that that would be an interesting experiment, however in order to make a statistically meaningful observation you would need to use quite a large number of traps with a track record of several years, and I am not willing to forego the potential missed catches. Co-location of traps might be a partial way round this, but at present no one is offering to give me the additional traps. What I can say is the lures still work after three months.

Thanks for your comments!